Newsweek article about ‘new localism’ (via John Robb’s Global Guerrillas. As he puts it, “As in, you might actually be stuck in the place you currently live. So, make the best of it.”)

Thriving neighborhood restaurants are one small data point in a larger trend I call the new localism. The basic premise: the longer people stay in their homes and communities, the more they identify with those places, and the greater their commitment to helping local businesses and institutions thrive, even in a downturn. Several factors are driving this process, including an aging population, suburbanization, the Internet, and an increased focus on family life. And even as the recession has begun to yield to recovery, our commitment to our local roots is only going to grow more profound. Evident before the recession, the new localism will shape how we live and work in the coming decades, and may even influence the course of our future politics.

I’ve lived in my current house longer than I’ve lived anywhere in my life. I lived in several different states while growing up, and we moved a few times as my dad shifted from one job to another. The longest place I had been while growing up was Boardman OH, where I lived from the middle of fifth grade to the middle of eleventh grade (both times we moved over the winter break).

Both my wife and I have developed a lot of local connections over the past decade we’ve been in southeast Michigan. A lot of her business comes through referrals from previous clients. Although we’d both contemplate moving somewhere else if we needed to in order to find new jobs and stay afloat, we would both lose a lot of ground and have to rebuild a lot if we were to relocate.

