I’ve taken advantage of the reciprocity available through NCARB (even if it’s pricey) and am now licensed to practice architecture in the State of Ohio as well as in Michigan.

I’m doing this largely for the opportunity to go after some potential work in Ohio, but it’s also appealing to me since I lived in Ohio for so many years, and especially since my degree in architecture comes from an institution in that state.

I hope that things balance out and I’m able to eventually earn back what I’m investing in this. Over the long term, I expect I will. The initial reciprocal license is more expensive than the ongoing registration renewal will be.

Although Michigan doesn’t have a continuing education requirement for licensure, Ohio does. It’s also required for AIA membership, and I’m generally interested in staying informed on stuff, so it’s not really a hardship for me.

