While this blog has mostly been reposting articles I’ve written for other publications, since that has been a lot of what I have been doing, the intent in setting up the blog was to use it to talk about projects that I’m working on. There is still not much in the way of real architecture going on, but there are a couple other things I am doing these days.

First of all, I have written a LEED continuing education article for Red Vector. (I don’t think there’s any bound I am crossing by mentioning this; it’s supposed to be published eventually, and they wanted me to write it under my own name and as a practicing architect and a LEED AP.) I still haven’t heard much from them since I turned in the completed draft; and I was at first concerned that there was a problem with it. The editor there has just been busy and this has not been the most important thing on his plate. I’m not sure how it’s going to be published or when it will be available, but sooner or later it should be out there. I’ll post a link once it’s available.

I’ve also recently put together a proposal to do some LEED consulting for a manufacturing facility in New Jersey. I think I came up with a decent proposal, but they contacted me last week and indicated that their architect was now looking to work with a local consultant. That makes some sense, of course, but I still feel a little bit put out for putting together a proposal for a project that wasn’t going to be awarded to anyone. I suppose that’s the nature of the business, though.

I am doing some consulting for the State of Arkansas with a program they are administering for grants to promote energy efficiency and improvements for municipalities and counties in the state. It’s similar to the EPA consulting I did last year, but this is more practically oriented, with funds being allocated for applications instead of research and development projects. I got a box full of grant applications earlier this week, and I have to go through and read all the proposals and then score them.

Lastly, I have had a couple meetings with a local organization who are looking at moving their offices, and have asked me to help them evaluate a building they are considering. Right now, it’s just some consultation with an eye toward greening and improving the building they would potentially be moving into. But, I think there is a possibility that, if this were to go forward, I would at least have a chance to get to do some further work with them.

