For the time being, we are using Facebook as one of the key resources for the AIA Michigan Committee on the Environment (COTE). The group had been dormant for a number of years, and we are trying to revive it and once again have a Committee on the Environment for the state of Michigan. But it’s an awkward and difficult tool.

Facebook does not make it easy to get a simple URL to share. I think they want to encourage internal FB systems to promote FB things, instead of letting you go outside their sandbox and share a simple URL by email. I had to poke around to even find the group on my profile (not only am I a member, I’m supposed to be an administrator). But the URL was so full of excess cruft, I knew it wasn’t a URL to share, so I had to then poke around a bit more in order to find a simple URL for the group.

For now, at least, this link seems to be the correct one for the AIA Michigan Committee on the Environment group on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=205588512717

So, I’m not sure if this will actually work. It looks like it’s working or me, but I’m already logged in. Your mileage in other circumstances may vary. If you are trying to find AIAMI COTE and this isn’t working for you, drop me a line, and I’ll try to help you directly.

