A quick note to mention a couple things that have happened recently.

At the most recent board meeting of the AIA Huron Valley Chapter, I was elected to the board. There has been a vacancy in the Associate Director position (which was meant to be the representative for associate members, mostly non-licensed architects* and people in allied businesses). I’m now a full member, myself, but having been an associate until recently, I thought I could participate, at least on an interim basis.

Instead of making it interim, though, they are planning to revise the position to be an Emerging Professionals Director, which will include both unlicensed and recently-licensed architects. So, once the by-laws are amended to change the position, I’ll be the Emerging Professionals Director for AIA Huron Valley.

Opening it up in this way also lets someone take the position before they are licensed, and then stay through their term. I think the average length of time someone is an associate is going to get shorter now, since the state of Michigan recently revised their rules to allow graduates begin taking the licensing exams while they are going through their internship, instead of having to wait until it has been completed, as I had to do.

I have also been in touch with Preston Koerner, the editor of Jetson Green, about resuming doing some writing for them. I had stopped writing for Jetson Green when I started writing for Inhabitat. But then, after some difference of opinion over Inhabitat’s proposed writers’ contract, I haven’t heard anything from them for several months, so it seems safe to assume that my tenure with them is over.

Lastly, I’ve been talking with the organizers of Penguicon and I’m going to be a Nifty Guest for the Eco Track at their convention at the end of April. I am planning a presentation tentatively (and badly) titled “Science Fiction Materials for Your Home” where I plan to talk about some of the high tech materials I’ve been following. I want to try to keep it to things that are in actual production, not merely theoretical, although they may not necessarily be aimed at the residential market.

(* It’s always been questionable what to call someone working in the field who is not yet a licensed architect; best left as a rant for another day.)

