I’ve been a juror/visiting critic/guest for several different sets of final presentations for various architectural projects in the last week or so. That has gotten me thinking some more about architectural presentation boards, particularly after the last set of presentations, which were for a competition.

A lot of what all of the visiting critics were asked to address was the presentation of the information. In a competition, you aren’t there to explain your board(s), so all the information needs to be there and needs to be well organized and readily understandable. Getting into that mindset has gotten me thinking about that whole part of architecture. While it is (at least one hopes) helpful to provide feedback to the students about their projects, it is also good to stretch some of the mental muscles with thinking about things that often don’t get that much consideration in the post-school working world.

I also saw this image in a recent AIArchitect newsletter (about the stalled projects database, which is a topic for another day) which I thought was particularly effective. Instead of just looking at it and hoping that I remember it, I’m saving it here for future reference.

I’ve noticed that architectural presentation (or display) boards (and variants thereof) are one of the big search terms that keeps leading people to this site. I don’t think that I’m a particular source of information on that topic, but maybe it’s something that I can actually be helpful with for others, as well. Architects can always use more visual ideas, and I’ll stay on the lookout for other sites with good images for presentations. I’d appreciate references to other good sites with info about this, as well.

It would be interesting to do a course that was entirely about information presentation, and the project design was secondary (or even a non-factor entirely), not unlike my old materials and Methods class, or other non-studio classes I took where we still tried to incorporate a bit of design in the assignments, but where that wasn’t the focus of the class.

The other class idea I’ve been thinking about is a materials and research class that would focus on developing the skills to search out and evaluate new materials. Again, it would not be a studio class, but would be focused on seeking out new materials, critically considering their claims and benefits, and figuring out how they might best be used in actual practice.

