Mostly off-topic for an architect, I know, but it’s this odd odd appendage that has developed as a part of my sideline as a writer about green technology (and living close to Detroit). Two things coming up:

I’ve been invited to come to Penguicon again this year, and to be on a panel with some other automotive and transportation folks to talk about the future of automotive technology. While I am still only accidentally a “car guy,” it has become an area of interest for me as part of my involvement with EcoGeek. I’m not in the industry the way the other panelists are, so hopefully I can provide some wider perspective. I also expect I will be acquainted with a number of blue-sky concepts that the others are less familiar with.

I’m not sure about other presentations or programming for Penguicon, yet. I’ve offered a possible presentation on ‘Alternative Alternative Power Generation,’ looking at the fringe ideas and explorations that make wind and solar look mainstream (which they certainly are becoming).

Secondly, I’ve been invited to visit a Volkswagen research facility in a couple weeks to learn more about what they are up to (as well as to have a chance to drive a bunch of their upcoming models). It’s one of the more incongruous parts of my life. Look for some stories coming out of that in a couple weeks.

